Welcome to the 19th International AEK Cancer Congress

The meeting is a joint event of AEK and the DFG Research Unit 2314 "Targeting therapeutic windows in essential cellular processes for tumor therapy“.

The 19th International AEK Cancer Congress is certified by Landesärztekammer Baden-Württemberg with 6 CME credits for Wednesday and Thursday, and 3 CME credits for Friday. You will geht your certificate af attendance at the registration desk when leaving the congress.

Chair  Prof. Dr. Simone Fulda (Frankfurt/Main) 
Co-Chair Prof. Dr. Lisa Wiesmüller (Ulm)
Prof. Dr. Martin Eilers (Würzburg)
Prof. Dr. Lars Zender (Tübingen)
Main Topics
  • Therapeutic exploitation of DNA damage & repair pathways
  • New concepts to target RAS
  • Autophagy & Ubiquitin-dependent signaling
  • Targeting Transcription and MYC
  • Programmed cell death revisited
  • Tumor heterogeneity & cancer evolution
  • Precision Oncology: from bench to bedside
  • Targeting the Vulnerabilities of Cancer

Scientific Commitee
Peter Angel, Heidelberg
Jürgen Becker, Essen
Klaus Bosslet, Penzberg
Petra Boukamp, Heidelberg
Thomas Brabletz, Freiburg
Matthias Dobbelstein, Göttingen
Martin Eilers, Würzburg
Rainer Engers, Neuss
Karl Freese, Merzig
Peter Friedl, Nijmegen
Simone Fulda, Frankfurt/Main
Bernd Groner, Frankfurt/Main
Jens Hoffmann, Berlin
Uta Elisabeth Höpken, Berlin
Klaus-Peter Janssen, München
Roland Moll, Marburg
Reinhold Schäfer, Berlin
Michael Schwarz, Tübingen
Sigrun Smola, Homburg
Beate Volkmer, Buxtehude
Lisa Wiesmüller, Ulm
Lars Zender, Tübingen

Congress Venue
EMBL Advanced Training Centre
Meyerhofstraße 1, 69117 Heidelberg

Important Information - Abstracts
  • Deadline for abstract submission: 20 December 2016
  • Please avoid special characters in title and text
  • Abstracts need to be submitted in English
  • Maximum number of characters: 2.500 including blanks
Important Information - Registration
  • Early Bird Registration Deadline: 15 January 2017
  • Reduced fees for DKG-members and Students

Confirmed speakers
Florian Bassermann (Munich)
Rene Bernards (Amsterdam)
Jay Bradner (Cambridge)
Vishva Dixit (San Francisco)
Gerard Evan (Cambridge)
Oscar Fernandez-Capetillo (Madrid)
Doug Green (Memphis)
Anthony Letai (Boston)
Christophe le Tourneau (Paris)
Richard Marais (Manchester)
Jean-Christophe Marine (Leuven)
Stefan Pfister (Heidelberg)
Christian Reinhardt (Cologne)
Kevin Ryan (Glasgow)
Clemens Schmitt (Berlin)
Peter Vandenabeele (Gent)
Eileen White (New Brunswick)
Owen Witte (Los Angeles)
Johannes Zuber (Vienna)